Prep Sports Tryout Information for 2020-2021(updated May 27, 2020)

It is that time of the year when the local prep teams begin to schedule tryouts.  As always, Thunder Radio wants to pass along all the tryout information we have received for the local prep coaches.  Students should be prepared to participate in all the tryout sessions unless otherwise noted.  Tryouts will be carried out following state guidelines due to the COVID-19 outbreak.  The teams will have students to try out in small groups to satisfy the CDC guidelines.

Student/athletes need to remember to bring along with them the signed and completed TSSAA Physical and Parental Consent forms with them when they arrive. That form can be downloaded at:  http://tssaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Forms/med01.pdf .

All homeschool students living in Coffee County who would like to sign up will need to register through the Coffee County Schools Central office. See Keith Cornelius at the Coffee County Schools central office.  Homeschool students living in the city who wish to try out for Westwood teams need to contact Westwood athletic director James Dobson at: jdobson@k12mcs.net

Coffee County Central High School – Athletic Director – Rebecca Koger (kogerr@k12coffee.net)

Coffee County CHS Football
• Date – TBD
• Time – TBD
• Location – CHS Fieldhouse
• Note – There is no tryout, contact Coach Greene for workout information.
• Coach – Doug Greene
• Contact – greened@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS Girls’ Basketball
• Date – Thursday, May 28th
• Time – 8 AM to 11 AM
• Location – CHS Gym
• Note – Sign up at: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfoJAZzo-nIcLYZwoA8JbhgcYUj-h-l8jKx7QNftEzrIzvsTA/viewform?vc=0&c=0&w=1&usp=mail_form_link
• Coach – Joe Pat Cope
• Contact – copej@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS Boys’ Basketball
• Date – Thursday, May 28th
• Time – 11:00 AM to 1:00 PM
• Location – CHS Gym
• Note – Sign up at: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1CTD1uX-0kDXU8GqE16K8oSm04HT949FQU57OfKPXQ5A/edit?fbclid=IwAR3328zWFxzcgGZB4eQSPm-hJ1u8uFdZEJwwOic2TAmVq5SErxIXUCatVOI
• Coach – Micah Williams
• Contact – williamsm@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS Tennis
• Date – Thursday, May 28th
• Time – 5:00 to 7:00 PM
• Location – Tennis Courts at Coffee County Raider Academy
• Note – Sign up at: https://forms.gle/pjPdVEVzuheUZXMK7
• Coach – Josh Inzer
• Contact – inzerj@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS volleyball
• Date – Thursday, May 28th
• Time – 1:00 to 3:00 PM
• Location – CHS Gym
• Note – Sign up at: https://forms.gle/hNDcCj9TEjf5ayAc6
• Coach – Andrew Taylor
• Contact – taylora@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS softball
• Date – Thursday, May 28th
• Time – 4:30 to 7:30 PM
• Location – Terry Floyd Field at CHS
• Note – Sign up at: https://forms.gle/h4qwTaRNx5ZYyqzn6
• Coach – Brandon McWhorter
• Contact – mcwhorterb@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS baseball
• Date – Monday, June 1st and Tuesday, June 2nd
• Time – 1:30 PM to 5:00 PM
• Location – Powers Field at CHS
• Note – Sign up by emailing coach Parker Gunn at: gunnp@k12coffee.net
• Coach – David Martin
• Contact – martindavid@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS Girls’ Soccer
• Date – June 15th and June 16th
• Time – 9:00 to 11:00 AM
• Location – Raider Soccer Field behind Raider Academy
• Note – Rescheduled from June 1st and 2nd
• Coach – Lee Xixis
• Contact – xixisl@k12coffee.net

Coffee County CHS Cross Country
• Date – Monday, July 27th
• Time – 9:00 AM
• Location – Track at Carden-Jarrell Field
• Note – No tryout, show up to first practice
• Coach – Nathan Wanuch
• Contact – quietrunner42@gmail.com

Coffee County CHS Swim
• Date – Friday, September 18th
• Time – 3:30 PM
• Location – Manchester Recreation Center
• Note –
• Coach – Becky Behrendorf
• Contact – behrendorfb@k12coffee.net


Westwood Middle School – Athletic Director – James Dobson (jdobson@k12mcs.net)

Westwood Middle School Football
• Date – Monday, June 1st thru Wednesday, June 3rd
• Time – 9:00 to 10:30 AM
• Location – Dyer/Bouldin Field at Westwood
• Note – Locker rooms will not be available Makeup dates are June 8th thru 11th – 8:00 to 9:30 AM
• Coach – Chad Dyer
• Contact – dyerc2@k12mcs.net

Westwood Middle School Volleyball
• Date – Tuesday, June 2nd thru Thursday, June 4th
• Time – TBD
• Location – Joel Vinson Gym at Westwood
• Note – email Coach Freeze to sign up for tryout time
• Coach – Laura Freeze
• Contact – lfreeze@k12mcs.net

Westwood Middle School Girls’ Soccer
• Date – Wednesday, June 3rd thru Thursday, June 4th
• Time – 3:00 to 5:00 PM
• Location – Dyer/Bouldin Field at Westwood
• Note – Locker rooms will not be available
• Coach – Donna Burdine or Kevin Smith
• Contact – dburdine@k12mcs.net OR ksmith@k12mcs.net

Westwood Middle School Girls’ Basketball
• Date – Friday, June 5th
• Time – TBD
• Location – Joel Vinson Gym at Westwood
• Note – Sign up at: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfnnwUMTLypr978A4V7lyhR1XyxnI8XPuBIWA0HamNU2VcarQ/viewform?usp=sf_link
• Coach – Angela Houck
• Contact – srofea@k12mcs.net

Westwood Middle School Boys’ Basketball
• Date – Monday, June 8th
• Time – TBD
• Location – Joel Vinson Gym at Westwood
• Note – Sign up at: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScWDoa_yjgZRJuxAhMoZhuUTmABM4gCFKHrJdpVvKnq6nhq7w/viewform?usp=sf_link
• Coach – Jerry Brown
• Contact – brownj@k12mcs.net

Westwood Middle School Swim
• Date – Friday, September 18th
• Time – 3:30 PM
• Location – Manchester Recreation Center
• Note –
• Coach – Becky Behrendorf
• Contact – behrendorfb@k12coffee.net


Coffee County Middle School – Kyle Harris, athletic director (harrisk@k12coffee.net)

Coffee County Middle School Volleyball
• Dates – Thursday May 28 11:30-1-30 Main Gym.
• Coach – Tori Taylor
• Contact – taylort@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School 6th Grade Girls’ Basketball
• Dates – Thursday May 28 10:00- 11:30 Main gym.
• Coach – David Vinson
• Contact – vinsond@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School 6th Grade Boys’ Basketball
• Dates – Thursday May 28 3:00-4:00 (if needed)
• Coach – Bryan Morgan
• Contact – morganbryan@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School Girls’ Varsity Basketball
• Dates – Thursday May 28 8:30-10:00 Main Gym.
• Coach – George Pearson
• Contact – pearsong@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School Girls’ Soccer
• Dates – May 28 and 29 – 5 to 6 and 6-7
• Coach – Jamie Norris
• Contact – norrisj45@yahoo.com

Coffee County Middle School Boys’ Varsity Basketball
• Dates – Thursday, May 28 – 2:00-3:30pm Main Gym
Thursday, May 28 – 4:00-5:30pm Main Gym
Friday, May 29 (if needed) 10:00-11:30am Main Gym
• Coach – Jonathan Oliver
• Contact – oliverj@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School Baseball
• Dates – Monday, June 1st 5:00 – 7:00 / Upcoming 6th Graders
Tuesday, June 2nd 5:00 – 7:00 / Upcoming 7th Graders
Wednesday, June 3rd 5:00 – 7:00 / Upcoming 8th Graders
Monday, June 8th 5:00 – 7:00 / Anyone who missed the prior week (if needed)
• Note – We will evaluate defense on the field at CCMS and hit in the facility to save time.
• Coach – Brock Freeze
• Contact – freezeb@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School Softball
• Dates – Monday, June 1st 2:00-4:00 6th graders
Tuesday, June 2nd 2:00-4:00 any new 7th/8th graders
Wednesday, June 3rd All returning 2:00-3:00, any extra 3:00-4:00
• Coach – Tiffany McCormick
• Contact – mccormickt@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School Boys’ Soccer
• Date – June 4th with 1hr slots starting at 8am
• Coach – Jonathan Graf
• Contact – grafj@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School Cheerleading
• Date – Friday June 5 – 3pm – Main Gym
• Note – The application below will be due May 29th by 11:59pm.
Click the link below or copy it into your web browser: https://forms.gle/eAHfBZKxiqj9Fegi7
June 1st you will be emailed the tryout dance and cheer along with your tryout time for June 5th.
• Coach – Laina Meeker
• Contact – meekerl@k12coffee.net

Coffee County Middle School Track
• Spring 2021

Coffee County Middle School Golf
• Spring 2021

Coffee County Middle School Tennis
• Spring 2021