Coffee County Moving To 5A Football In 2015

TSSAAThe TSSAA Board of Control voted Monday to split the state’s largest 32 schools into their own classification beginning with the 2015 football season. The remaining schools will be split into five classifications under the old Class 5A format with the top four teams from each region earning playoff berths.
All of the 32 Super 6 teams will automatically qualify for the playoffs, making the regular season a mosh pit for seeding.
It looks like at this time District 8-AAA will be split, with Tullahoma and Lawrence County likely dropping to 4A while the rest of the district’s teams; Coffee County, Columbia, Franklin County, Lincoln County and Shelbyville will change to 5A.
The TSSAA will meet again in November to check enrollment from each school and finalize new classifications and regions. The changes will take affect for next year’s 2015 football season.