The Fight For Congress Fires Up

After re-districting Coffee County now falls in 6th Congressional district with the seat now held by Republican Diane Black. In August Black will face familiar foe Lou Ann Zelenik in the primary. Two years ago Zelenik lost in a very close race. The pair also traded legal issues in court, resulting from the race. Coffee County’s old 4th District is currently held by Republican Congressman Dr. Scott Desjarlais.  He will be challenged by Shannon Kelley in the primary. In November Democrat Eric Stewart will face the winner. Stewart is the current 14th District State Senator. The 4th District includes Franklin, Warren, and Grundy Counties.