More Local Elections To Be Held In August

vote 3As early voting continues for the May primary another list of candidates have qualified in non-partisan elections to be held locally on August 7.
Four of the seven seats on the Coffee County School Board could have been contested but only one race will have competition. Seat 4 will see incumbent Marilyn G. Morris face off against long time educator Pat Barton. Newcomer Sandra Klonaris will step into Seat 6 as Reggie Johnson decided not to run for re-election. Incumbents Brett Henley (Seat 3) and Freda Jones (Seat 2) are running unopposed. School board member serve 4-year terms.
In the Manchester Municipal Election for Aldermen there is a guarantee of at least two new aldermen. Alderman Cheryl Swan is the only incumbent seeking re-election. Aldermen Donny Parsley and Roxanne Patton did not file petitions to seek re-election.
Also qualifying to run for alderman are Tim Kilgore, Sam Miller, Claude S. Morse, Chris Robison, Lana Matthews Sain, Gary A. Trail and Nelson Watson.
The three candidates who receive the most votes in the Aug. 7 election will serve four-year terms.
In the race for three Manchester School Board members the incumbents (Lisa Gregory, Travis Hillis and Susan Wood) will return to their seats as no one else qualified. They will serve for 4 more years.
The deadline to register to vote in the August 7 elections is Tuesday, July 8. Early voting will be July 18 through Aug. 2.