Grant Money For District

Acting U.S. Commerce Secretary Rebecca Blank says four Economic Development Administration (EDA) grants totaling $3.2 million to build critical infrastructure, support workforce training programs, and facilitate disaster recovery efforts in Tennessee. According to grantee estimates, the projects will together create 786 jobs and attract $373 million in private investment.

“These $3.2 million in EDA investments in Tennessee are examples of the Obama administration’s commitment to efforts that support long-term economic growth,” said Acting U.S. Commerce Secretary Blank. “The grants will help Tennessee build critical infrastructure, support natural disaster recovery, and provide training for American workers, all of which create jobs and boost the state’s economy.”

The investments announced include:

An EDA grant of $222,457 to the South Central Tennessee Development District to fund the creation of a long-term disaster recovery and redevelopment strategy for the 13-county region, including a comprehensive assessment of the impact of recent disasters on the regional economy.

The South Central Tennessee Development District is the counties of:

Bedford County

Coffee County

Franklin County

Giles County

Hickman County

Lawrence County

Lewis County

Lincoln County

Marshall County

Maury County

Moore County

Perry County

Wayne County