Election Commission Works On Manchester Election

From left to right: Administrator Vernita Davis, members Max Lamont, Barbara Arp, Frances Powers and Larry McIntosh

The Election Commission met Monday afternoon to determine if two non-city residents who own property in Manchester were eligible to be placed on the ballot in the upcoming city election. After hearing discussion on both sides, the commission voted four to zero in favor of the motion to put them on the ballot. The motion was made by Max Lamont and seconded by Larry McIntosh. The two in question were Brent Bates and Danny Davis.
Prior to this motion another motion was passed to approve Michelle Simmons and Gary Trail who both live inside the city limits.
Manchester voters will be allowed to vote for up to 5 candidates. The top three candidates will receive 4-year terms. The next two will serve 2 years and 5th highest gets to serve out the final 2 years of Lonnie Norman’s term.  Norman must give up his remaining term in order to be on the mayoral ballot.  Other candidates for alderman include Donnie Thomas, Harlan Gene Holmes, Ryan French and Roxanne Patton. Other candidates qualifying are J. Sam Miller, Mark Messick, Tim Pauley, Cheryl Swan, Russell Bryan and Joshua Jackson Moore.
Mayoral candidates are Betty Superstein, Lonnie Norman, Claude Morse and Stella McWhorter.
Election Day is August 2.