Alumni Award Winners named at Motlow

Chris Jones

The Motlow College Foundation recently announced the recipients of two alumni awards which will be presented at the 25th Annual Motlow Gala on Saturday, March 25.
The recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award is Chris Jones of Murfreesboro. Jones is a 1985 graduate of Motlow State, where he received an Associate’s Degree in General Studies. After graduating from Motlow, Jones continued his education by obtaining a Bachelor of Science in Communications from the University of Tennessee and a certificate from the Robert Kabat Management Internship Program, part of the School of Business at the University of Wisconsin.
Jones started his career as a radio host for WDFZ in Tullahoma and spent several years in the field of journalism and public relations. Jones has been an active community member in Rutherford County, serving as Vice Chair of Destination Rutherford among others, and he received the Pinnacle Leadership Rutherford Award in 2016. Currently, Jones is the president and CEO of Middle Tennessee Electric Membership Corporation (MTEMC).
The winner of the inaugural One to Watch Award is, Hope Sartain of Tullahoma. The One to Watch Award, is a new award through the Motlow College Foundation, which recognizes younger alumni who are up and coming in their careers and in service to their community.

Hope Sartain

Sartain is a 2016 graduate of Motlow State, where she received an Associate’s Degree in Science. Sartain began her career by working in sales for the Exchange Media Group in Tullahoma, and in January of this year accepted a position as the Executive Director for the Tullahoma Area Chamber of Commerce (TACC).
Jones and Sartain will be recognized as the award recipients at the annual Motlow Gala, which will be held at the Manchester-Coffee County Conference Center on Saturday, March 25, from 5:30 – 11 p.m. Tickets to the Gala are available for purchase until the deadline of Friday, March 17, and can be purchased online at